The Sonoma County Conservation Council, the Sierra Club, Sonoma Group and more than 170 activists gathered Saturday night at the Sebastopol Veterans Auditorium to honor  individuals and local programs working to protect the environment.

Environmentalist of the Year

Jane Nielson Ph.D., Sonoma County Water Coalition, Sebastopol Water Information Group (SWiG), and Open Space, Water and Land Use (OWL) Foundation

Outstanding Environmental Education Program

Daily Acts


Honorable Mentions:

Moms for Clean Air

Petaluma Wetlands Alliance – Wetlands Education Program

 Anthony Hanrahan,

Janis Grattan Watkins, Provencher & Flatt

Jay Halcomb, Sierra Club, Redwood Chapter

Ken Wells, Sonoma County Conservation Action, Sonoma County Bicycle Coalition, Sonoma County Trails Council and Sonoma County Local Task Force For Solid Waste

Mary T. Crowley, Project Kaisei of Ocean Voyages Institute

Tanya Narath, Leadership Institute for Ecology and the Economy

All of the nomination statements can found at